A Garden of Delights

A New Flash Fiction Friday 2/10/12

Posted on: February 11, 2012

It’s Flash Fiction Friday again.  And it’s also the day that my very first guest blog post!  If you’d like to check it out, head over to Everyone’s Story by Elaine Stock.  I’d love your comments, but please don’t stop there.  Elaine has wonderful guests every week, it might be worth some time to look over her past posts.

But wait!  That has nothing to do with Flash Fiction.  The Five Minute Getaway image that LS Engler used for her piece was lovely, but not the inspiration I needed.  So I went to the I Can Haz Cheeseburger site and found this great image (and Sharon Howard chose for her own for a delightful piece you should check out) and chose this one (isn’t it AWESOME?):

Illluminated Ice Palace, Schwarzsee, Switzerland via The Guardian

Ice Palace via The Guardian

Valistii grimaced as he looked over the barren expanse.  Dividing the Family like this had never been his intentions, but the way things had been between his brother and he…  He looked over at his wife, as she stood off by the excavating equipment, pulling the furs around her body closer.  She wasn’t looking at their soon to be new home.  She wasn’t looking at him.  She wasn’t even looking at her children.

She was looking, as always to the north and the  warm equatorial archipelago that formed his brother’s home.  Their old home…  Just because he couldn’t bear the thought of living there any longer didn’t mean, in her opinion, that she should have been forced o leave her home.  That Valistii had been able to convince her of the move at all only.  The sovereign had requested them personally as the new lord and lady of this new district.

This new district…  This wasteland of ice!

Why when he was finally old enough to be the lord of anything this problem land of nothing!  There were times he–

A burst of static broke through in his wrist com. |Sier!  We found something!|

Valistii allowed his binoculars to fall against his chest.  Something?  Out here?  He wobbled his way over the icy crust toward his step-son’s scout crew.  “Something?” he said as he slid the last few steps.

Lir waved a hand in front of him toward the rest of the crew.  “Look for yourself, Father.”

He needn’t have said so.  Indeed, Valistii hardly had heard the younger man.  He was too busy staring.  “Méykis bless!” he whispered.

To be the Lord of such a magnificent place!

So, the first three paragraphs were the only ones that fit in the 5 minutes.  New stories were just not flowing tonight.  But as I wrote it did get easier…  except that I still need to wake up around 6 am and it’s already 2am.  😛

I have other things I should be posting about such as updates for my Telling Tales and Bookmark Challenges.  Nothing doing tonight.  I’ll just leave you with a list of some wonderful Flash Fiction to enjoy.  Have a great night!

6 Responses to "A New Flash Fiction Friday 2/10/12"

I love that you gathered a list, And I still love ‘Listii, too. That picture – it is transcendent!

I still need to figure some things out…but that list……that is nifty!

Gathered a list? Not sure what you mean, unless it’s links to send people to other members of our Flash Fiction “crew”. Just seemed a nice idea.

I think ‘Listii is super awesome hot… Well, um, yeah!

I love the image! and the story is intriguing, definitely leaves you wanting to know more I hope you will continue it at some point! 🙂

I think I will, in some form or another. And isn’t that the coolest image. Now I want to go to Switzerland too. 😉

Love this… I like how the wife is annoyed at having to move and then voila! Great piece.

I have a lot of fun with these characters (as you can see by Shan’s comment…I really love ‘Listii). And his wife and he…. If you’d like to read more about ‘Listii and his family, I’ve posted a start of story on Many Worlds involving the whole crazy Hastor clan.

Please share your thoughts

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Short Stuff

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

