A Garden of Delights

A Bit of Friday Fun

Posted on: March 3, 2012

Another Mini Mash-Up today…  Really, it’s difficult to do anything but mash-ups when so many interesting things are going on all over the web lately.  It feels really wonderful to be part of such a creative global community.

The news first:

As I noted on Tuesday, I will be hosting my very first guest blogger, Elaine Stock, who will be sharing with us those things that inspired her to write and tell stories.  A writer of  faith-based fiction, Elaine’s curiosity and love of people has led her to welcome writers and readers from all over the world to tell their stories.  If you have the time, pop over to her page and check out some her guests.  You won’t be disappointed.

Now for the fun stuff:

Flash fiction!  Yep, as I posted for my recent ROW80 update, I’ve finally gotten myself back into the Swing of Things, and that means some Friday Flash Fiction.  It’s not as if I’ve kept up with my flash fiction of late.  No Five Minute Getaways…  No random prompts…  I am even behind on my Three Word Wednesday posts over at Many Worlds From Many Minds.

Well, to make up for some lost time, here is a piece of quasi-inspired writing to (hopefully) amuse you.

Chuck Wendig’s Terrible Minds blog gets a lot of traffic on Fridays because of the flash fiction challenges he posts, and normally I wouldn’t have bothered with an expired contest, but I felt a need to write a piece (albeit a week late) for Chuck’s The 10K Contest  where people were supposed to write a full story of less than 100 words in five sentences.

Her footsteps creaked on the stairs as she came down slower than normal.  He knew she’d heard about the shooting as soon as he saw her tear-stained face.  Steeling himself, “Honey, there was a–,” he started to say.  He reached out to wipe away a tear, wrapping his other arm around her, but she stiffened against the bulk of the P225 under his coat.

Refusing to give up faced with going to their son’s funeral alone, he clung to her, sobbing in her hair, “I didn’t know it was Bobby–I honestly didn’t know….”

That’s it.  Not much to it, I’m afraid.  There was supposed to be more, but due to technical issues I regret to inform you that those pieces have been canceled.  I am endeavoring to reschedule them for a later date.  😉

2 Responses to "A Bit of Friday Fun"

Chill-inducing…..when do we get more?

I can feel the literal and emotional intrusion of that gun, and her recoil……

For that piece there is no more, but I have a small back-log of small fiction pieces I’m trying to get out the door. Glad you enjoyed it. Far better than Melissa’s reaction… she said that stuff like that was why she stopped reading Jodi Picoult.

Please share your thoughts

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Short Stuff

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 729 other followers

