A Garden of Delights

Create a Character Bible to Flesh Out Your Star Characters

Posted on: May 26, 2013

Thinking about writing these days…

San Diego Professional Writer's Group

I’m not sure where I picked up the term bible. It’s not that I’m overly religious. Somehow I stumbled across it and the term stuck. Yes, my character bibles have a basic description, the back story and family history. But most of this falls into list territory. A true character bible goes beyond the sorts of details you could glean from Ancestry.com.

Character Arc
Before I embark on a novel, I need to know where my characters come from and where they plan to go. I spend a lot of time thinking about how the character will change over the course of the novel. What problems will she overcome?

I often consider what the character will be like at the end of the novel. Then I reverse and have her start completely opposite at the start. If she ends up being secure in herself, then she should start the story…

View original post 427 more words

Please share your thoughts

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

