A Garden of Delights

Gift of Poetry

Posted on: March 21, 2014

Sometimes people mean so much to us that all “things” seem inadequate.  We say we should give of ourselves, but that comes off as so trite.  And it’s hard to define anyway.  I can’t speak for most people, but I try to make myself available and try to do things for those I love without being reminded or asked anyway.  I love them and try to be attentive to them.

Bubbles!  MUST pop Bubbles (credit Ray Paulsen Photography)

Bubbles! MUST pop Bubbles (credit Ray Paulsen Photography)

So what to give a life partner who makes smiles just happen by being in the same room?  Who frustrates me by leaving the butter out and staring at me blankly when I ask if we need anything from the store before I head out then asks me why I forgot mustard when I get home…  Who perfected the infamous Muppet Dance and does pseudo-ballet twirls in our kitchen as I’m moving boiling water around….

I wrote a poem.

Flavor

I don’t like

      Coffee

Flavored kisses,

bittersweet, tangy

      Let me

take one of my

      Birthday truffles

Make sweet, hot, wet

      Drops on your lips.

Warm, melting,

      caress

my lips

      taste of yours.

My fingers reach to your hair

I hold you there

      Dripping sweetness

      lick it up

      take another bite.

I don’t like coffee

but your flavored kisses

            are too brief.

I wrote this before my husband’s birthday, but sharing it is a very different step.  I hope you’ll all indulge me for the moment as I wish Dan Happy Birthday (a few days off).

At the Henge (photo credit Eden Mabee)

Please share your thoughts

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

