A Garden of Delights

MOAR!

Posted on: April 10, 2017

Last week I thought I I’d set a S.M.A.R.T. goal for the beginning of this round of the ROW80.  Just a little thing…  one goal, to figure out what I really want to focus my attention on by making a list of ten things I really want to achieve in my life.

My mind of late….

It’s a bit more challenging than I thought.  I found a lot of “this would be so very awesome if I could do it” things, but…  whether it’s because I’ve been in a funk of sorts for a few years now, or because I’ve been too distracted with dealing with day-to-day blargh to want anything except an escape, I just didn’t get it done.

Since we all know that there really is no escape, that leaves a lot of brain-ing for answers that just don’t seem to be here now.  I have worked with the “this would be super awesome” bunch for a few days now, but that’s a huge list, and the processing is taking longer than I’d planned.

I have discovered a few things about myself in this…

  1. I cannot stop myself from discovering and seeing new things—the “Shiny” is all-encompassing.  Even when the ‘new’ things are actually very old (I fully intend to see lots of castles and ruins in a few weeks as we jaunt through England), I feel an obsessive pull to see and discover more.  Or in the words of the web…  MOAR!  Do All The Things really is a thing for me.
  2. All the Things isn’t feasible, but a lot depends on successful navigation of what is possible within the limits of time, energy and physical constraints (money, location, etc.) for me to maintain any kind of mental stability
  3. In addition to All The Things, I also cannot stop myself from obsessively volunteering to help others who share my passion for discovery and finding new things.  (Ask anyone who knows me personally…  I am a (frequently annoying) font of “try this” or “maybe you’d be interested in this” ideas and suggestions for shows, events, challenges, websites, travel info…)

Like many of my friends, I one of those 30 browser tabs open at a time people.  Social media is a dangerous place for me, not so much for the flame-wars (though those can be excellent places for story ideas and character creation) but for the plethora of links and ideas to consider and explore.  The images that inspire ideas…  like these!

Imagine walking these, the cultures of people who lived in such an area through history (keep in mind that whoever posted these photos did overdo the image saturation a bit)…  Copper and thus the Bronze Age in human history, may have occurred because one group of people realized that there were other ways to use the beautiful green stone malachite than for jewelry and personal adornment.  And when did people come up with the idea of making storage containers out of clay and firing them into pottery?

Yeah, I think of some odd stuff…

6 Responses to "MOAR!"

Well, I don’t see the stuff as odd, but then I am probably in close proximity to you on the MOAR scale (although I only have a dozen tabs open at the moment). I tried to plan my sabbatical project this past week, and came up with several somethings that would take more like a decade each than six months, sigh. In my case, it is the combination of hyper-focus and the “ooh, shiny” of the ADD brain.

My only suggestion is to glory in the diversity and flexibility of your brain.

Thanks… I intend to enjoy it as much as I can (I can’t always guarantee coherency, but I can spontaneity–most of the time). And yes, I suspect we’re far more similar in thinking-style than most would think. :-/

Wow! These are wonderful photos, very evocative. I too am drawn by bright and shiny as well as other cultures near and far in place and time. What a wonderful exercise in planning you summarize here, confronting what is truly possible, recognizing what draws you to new ideas. I must confess I was hoping to see that list of 10 things you want to accomplish. Maybe next time? Have a very good week. Dive in and enjoy the process.

Hi, Beth! I really was hoping to have that list done too. It’s so much harder than I thought it would be, trying to nail down those ten things that I would like to devote my life to. It’s not that I don’t have a lot of things I’d like to do, but finding ten things that I believe my life will not be complete if I don’t do… that’s a lot harder.

I have a lot of browser windows open too though my ageing computer can’t cope with 30! And I know what you mean about shiny and social media. Interesting thoughts about history – I find history of people and social development endlessly fascinating as well.

I know what you mean about aging computers–my laptop is older than my tween son, and having more than 10 browser windows open at a time on that can get pretty iffy, especially if I also have a Scrivener project going at the time. But there is so much cool stuff out there to learn and discover… I frequently bookmark whole groups of tabs and date them to look at later (and sometimes I even get back to them!! 😉 ).

Please share your thoughts

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 727 other followers

