A Garden of Delights

May First Friday (a photo or two)

Posted on: May 5, 2023

Hi. Welcome to this little thing I’m trying to start.

For a few years now I’ve been trying to setup (with dreadful inconsistency) a little bloghop called “First Friday Photo”, where I hoped to share my joy of pictures with others. I hope you enjoy my offerings and join in. If the linky (the little blue froggie on the sidebar) isn’t active but you’d like to link a post, just add it in down in the comments and I will add you.

For now, here is May’s offering:

Wall Paintings

What is true art? How do we value it?

Is this medieval wall painting (revealed during a restoration in the 1950s) of more value than the mural on the wall of a brownstone in north Troy, NY?

You decide.

St, Christopher painting at St. Mary’s Grundisburgh, Suffolk, UK
Just along 5th Ave, Troy, NY

5 Responses to "May First Friday (a photo or two)"

Both have value. We tend to think of old things as somehow better, but really, they’re just old. They can teach us things about the past, but they aren’t inherently more artistic than more modern creations.

I agree personally, though I never wish to assume everyone else should agree with me. (Actually, I find the street mural more “artistic” but it could simply be how time and abuse has damaged the St, Christopher image

[…] on Saturday: I’m also linking up with a new blog hop, First Friday Photo, hosted by Eden at A Garden of Delights. Imagine we’re sipping our drinks while wandering garden paths on a perfect spring morning. […]

Hi Eden
If I kept a handwritten journal, it might as well be encrypted.
Too much happening this month for photos – Next month, maybe.

I do keep an handwritten journal… I think I understand what you are dealing with. No problem about the photos… life happens. It’s the way it is.

Please share your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

First Friday Photo

Something to inspire

obligatory “What I Allow”

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 715 other subscribers